ADVERTISEMENT

High School Pitch Counts

HawkPT

Freshman
Dec 13, 2002
An interesting look at the pitch count rules for each state: http://www.baseballamerica.com/high-school/high-school-pitch-count-rules-by-state/.

As you probably know, the NFHS mandated a pitch count but gave the states authority over the specifics. Three states followed the Pitch Smart rules, which are considered to be pretty strict: Arizona, Maryland, and Florida.

Pitch Smart allows 11th/12th graders to throw a maximum of 105 pitches in a day and 9th/10th graders a maximum of 95. Minimum rest is 1 day with 31-45 pitches; 2 days with 46-60 pitches; 3 days with 61-75 pitches; and 4 days with 76+ pitches.

Iowa's rules are quite strict as well with the following rules:
  • Maximum pitch count = 110
  • 1 day rest with 26-40 pitches
  • 2 day rest with 41-65 pitches
  • 3 day rest with 66-90 pitches
  • 4 day rest with 91+ pitches
As a physical therapist, I believe pitch counts are necessary for the long-term health of pitchers' arms. However, I expect modifications will be made in upcoming years. Iowa's rules are more strict than Pitch Smart for pitch counts requiring 1 day rest (40 vs. 45).

In the category of unintended consequences, my son's team is having several schools cancel games - schools they've played for many years. His team competes at the 2A level, and some 1A schools don't want to waste arms while not being equipped to compete. Unfortunately, I think this will result in kids playing less baseball at those levels.

Last edited:
Having a son who is a pitcher, I think this is a good thing. Will it be recorded and put somewhere for coaches to monitor?

It sounds like both teams will be responsible for tracking pitches, and the home book is official on this. I'm not sure what the plan is for posting and monitoring. That's a good question. I would think that IAHSAA will likely have something on their website, or maybe they'll add features to Quikstats for this purpose.