ADVERTISEMENT

Pleasant Valley Girls Track Title Stripped

If I'm a college coach I step away from this girl....she knowingly defied a rule and entered using her mother's maiden name. If I am a college coach I'd look at her and see a girl who both isn't afraid of violating the rules and even worse isn't afraid to try and cover up her violations. What other rules is she willing to break? She has already proven her propensity to cheat. Pulling stunts like that in college could result in NCAA sanctions and harm a whole program or even colleges reputation / marketability. Of course it is possible that a college coach could put her up to this to see how she would stack up against college competition.

If she is that talented that she could be competing in organized events against college athletes than that is good for her...but she shouldn't still be competing in high school events.

I feel bad for the PV team but support the official's decision to strip the title. Anything short of that would have been the wrong message for this situation. Unknowingly breaking a rule is one matter....attempting to cover up that violation is a whole different story.

This post was edited on 7/26 9:07 AM by ghost80

I don't really understand why this would be an issue. I get it that a kid who knowingly breaks the rules could be a problem. I'm talking about the rule itself. What advantage does the competition she competed in provide her? We had a kid in Burlington play baseball for one game for his father's minor league baseball team against the local junior college. He didn't get paid, he just played on the team for one game under his fathers coaching. He was subsequently ruled ineligible for the season. They didn't realize this would be a violation, but why do we put the kids in this predicament? What advantage could there possibly be?