ADVERTISEMENT

General question on rules

Woobster

Freshman
Mar 22, 2002
First of all, let me say I am a basketball coach and aside from taking theory of wrestling from Jim Miller back in the day at UNI- I know little about wrestling. I am from Manson where we have excellent wrestling and excellent coaches- here is the question-
I have noticed more and more programs have trouble filling out a lineup, especiall in smaller schools. Why then is an empty bracket 6 points and not just 3? It would seem to me that if we forfeit 3 matches and it costs us 9 points- that we can make up during a meet with three wins- as it is- we need three pins. 6 points being awarded for not being able to fill a weight class just seems to make it so that even if you do have talented kids at your other weights- you get so far behind the 8 ball in the score that you cannot catch up. I'm not sure there is an answer to this but doesn anybody else feel the same way?? I don't know who made the rules of wrestling- but I think they screwed that up ( I know, pretty brazen for a pumpkin pusher to say that)but I've just always thought it.

Not a bad question, but look at it from both pts of view. If you have a kid who pins a kid from another school, then you wrestle them again, with your rules, what would prevent a forfeit? I would rather lose 3 than 6! I think you have to give whatever the best case scenario would be, 6 to keep teams from just not sending someone out there. You don't want to penalize a school for having a full line-up either.

Good point, you are probably right...you have to take into account people using the scoring to their advantage. You are probably right on with your answer- didn't think of that....thanks.

For a really small example.

A team leads by 5 points going into the last match and could lose by a pin. Say you have a weak weight going into the final match vs a wrestler woh is rated in the top 10 or is very good at pinning (usually go hand-in-hand).