ADVERTISEMENT

Start of Cross Country Competition

Try this, I believe there are some meets tonight and a few on Thur.

http://ia.milesplit.com/meets/results/2012/cc

Thats a diffiicult question to quantify. Very dependent on class (1A-4A), course differences, weather, etc.. On a track you can compare - XC is difficult. For the lower classes I always believed you need to be under 20 minutes to run varsity and low 19's to be a scorer. Unfortunately many programs today struggle to find 5 runners. I recall one team last year that had 5 runners and none could break 21. They were all getting the benefit of a sport that gives lifelong benefits and habits which was great. Most meets the time is not important - running smart and for position is important. Winning the first two miles does not give any extra points.

Also, what does first year mean? You could be a first-year senior ex-fball and be a stud. You could be a frosh who has never ran before as well. As a coach, I try and gauge where someone is at during the first couple of weeks of practice, see who they run with as far as returning runners, then give them a first meet goal.

I agree with mfp. There are a lot of variables starting with your question of 1st year...9-10-11-12? really makes a difference in physical maturity and what a young person can do aged 14-18. Size of school can make a difference but I think that has more to do with percentages of athleticism available. I'm guessing the better athletes at smaller schools are probably playing football but not necessarily true in all cases. I think it would depend on the success of the programs and how the coaches have developed their culture in their community. Some small schools have a long tradition in either sport for a good reason.