ADVERTISEMENT

Which Players From Your Area Should College Recruiters Be Looking At?

EastIowaHawk

All District
Jan 6, 2008
Since most of our favorite teams have been eliminated, and the tourney hasn't started yet, let's get a thread going on those players we've seen play this year who may be a little under the radar, but you are certain could be a big help to a college basketball team. Let's eliminate those who already have major D1 offers like Foster, Born, Duax, etc. There are some amazing players out there. Who should be on the list?

I live in the Oskaloosa area. And there are some legit players in Southern Iowa. Some of the players I have seen are Trae Swartz of Ottumwa, Blake Chance of Albia, Kiernan Nichols of Knoxville. Spence Hixson is a good shooter from Knoxville. Burlington also has a couple of nice players as well. Anothony Portray of Keokuk is another nice player.

I'm a small school coach in NW Iowa and there are some real ball players that could help some squads next year that I've witnessed play but I am pretty ignorant to any of them going anywhere.

Jackson Louscher from SO'B is going to Northwestern College I believe
Zeke Lundquist from SO'B isn't tall enough to be a big @ 6'4 in college but could develop into a solid 3/4 player
Spencer Schorg of RSM could help a team somewhere, has the intangibles, floor general
Baxter Walsch from West Sioux plays a nice game (Coppock/Lynott/Dekkers obvious college athletes there)
Klompein from Unity is a lengthy guard that can stroke
Haken & Mauldin from GLR could definitely help a roster
Helmers from Okoboji
Isaac Ihnen from HLP is a pure scorer with nice length as a guard
Garret Trapp from River Valley

There is some very solid young talent in our area as well.

Nic Coble from Waco is totally under the radar. Kid has led Class 1-A in rebounding the last two years. I was disappointed he didnt get a chance to play in front of college coaches at the state tournament.