ADVERTISEMENT

District Sites

Well, considering there is only 1 site within 120 miles of us, I'm thinking it's obvious where we'll be. Of course it is Iowa, which means we'll end up in Shenendoah or Orange City.

Yeah..... there is going to be some driving in 2A... With Shenandoah and Unity as sites, you have to go all the way over to schools like PCM, clarion goldfield, garner, roland story, north polk, etc. to even be able to pull 13-14 teams into those two districts and make an equitable number of teams in each. Meanwhile, there are 25+ schools within reasonable distance of going to Dike. I would say about half the teams up and down I-35 have to go all the way west to get the same number of teams in those western districts.

But, that is the way it shakes out (as I assume) there just were not any other sites that said they would host.

downside (from my perspective) is that hosting a meet is a giant PITA, and as a coach, I want to be able to be with my team and coach at a meet like this. I don't want to be running a meet.

If a school has several competent people who can run a CC meet, and are not the CC coaches..... that is great. However, often, the CC coach is the one who has to run the meet when hosting. I think most people simply do not want the responsibility, extra work and distraction of trying to host a meet like this. Also, you need a decent facility and it is hard to get golf courses to give up multiple days per fall for CC. Hard enough getting them to let you on a course once for a home meet, much less multiple times for conference and district type events.

Upside - no travel, concession money for booster club, maybe some money for admission or parking perhaps, home course advantage.

Reactions: mtdew_fever
I agree with cc coach on the downsides, and some years I believe the home course isn't necessarily an advantage (for various reasons)