ADVERTISEMENT

Ha, Ha, Meeks...

MitchL

Varsity
Oct 31, 2005
No, not for being a meddling parent, but Mr. Meeks has issued a blanket apology on the Iowa wrestling forum for all the disparaging remarks he has made over the last few years about Dan Gable, TnT Brands, and the Iowa wrestling program, in general. Sorry, I am not good at posting links, but it brings up a multitude of questions with the timing and motivation to post such a humiliating admission.

One could theorize that it may be a early attempt to mend fences because of the tenuous situation in Cloneville. In the likely event that this is Kevin Jackson's last season in Ames, could Mr. Meeks be planting the seeds for an eventual transfer out of ISU for his son?

The timing is certainly curious, to say the least. And it may be simply a coincidence that the current 141 at Iowa will be a senior this fall and thus there will be a new 141 for the 2015/2016 season in Iowa City.

A new coaching staff would most certainly review the current scholly situation and $$$ allotment for the current wrestling roster at ISU. And you can bet your right arm that a 500, or less wrestler, isn't going to be getting anything close to a full ride. In reality, the pressure will be immense for young John for the upcoming season. Given that 141 is absolutely STACKED this next year, the prospects for an AA season are basically nonexistent for young John.

It goes without saying that the Meeks' family will deny everything, but this is just plain odd that Mr. Meeks would do this.

I wish nothing but good luck to all Iowa high school wrestling stars, John included, but I think the eventual destination for him will be GV.

buf:

I realize you are a very passionate ISU fan and have periodic discussions with wrestlers and some parents. I also know from reading numerous forums that there is a high degree of apathy concerning long time ISU fans and that the bar has been set incredibly low regarding the expectation of Jackson coached teams.